New Look Conservative Group

Editor's note: the meeting was virtual, the photo was taken in January 2020 before social distancing in the UK

Bury Conservative Group have unanimously re-elected Cllr. Nick Jones as their Group Leader and Cllr. Paul Cropper as Deputy Leader at the Groups Annual Meeting in this evening. Cllr. Jones and Cllr. Cropper have been leading the Conservative Group since January. Both Councillors were elected to Bury MBC in May 2018. 

The new Conservative Shadow Cabinet for 2020/21 is:
Nick Jones, Conservative Group Leader and Shadow Cabinet Member for Finance and Property
Paul Cropper, Conservative Group Deputy Leader, Shadow Cabinet Member for Environment, Climate Change and Air Quality 
Dene Vernon, Shadow Cabinet Member for Community Services and Emergency Planning
Sam Hurst, Shadow Cabinet Member for Education and Children Services
Dorothy Gunther, Shadow Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health
Roy-E Walker, Shadow Cabinet Member for Transport and Highways
Robert Caserta, Shadow Cabinet Member for Corporate Affairs, Regeneration and HR

Cllr. Khalid Hussain JP, Conservative Group Chief Whip 

Cllr. Jones said: “I am delighted to have been unanimously re-elected Group Leader of Bury Conservatives this evening. Leading the Group since January has been a true honour and a privilege and I look forward to continuing to lead the Group. The current pandemic has put real pressure on our communities and we will continue to support our local residents and businesses throughout this COVID-19 crisis."

Bury Conservatives will continue to put forward alternatives to the current administration and hold them to account. Actions by the administration in the last 24 hours have raised serious question for the education and wellbeing of our children. 

I have today asked the Executive Director of Children Services as a matter of public record what scientific/Council Officer advice has been sought and thus provided in relation to the Councils stance. At no point, to my knowledge, has there been a resolution of Council and/or a briefing to the Cabinet to put forward the reasons why schools should remain closed across Bury, Radcliffe, Whitefield, Prestwich, Tottington and Ramsbottom. In the absence of such advice I can only conclude the letter issued to headteachers is clearly politically motivated and not one which is backed up by scientific or Bury Council Officer advice.

The Conservative Group will continue to campaign to protect our precious greenbelt and oppose the Greater Manchester Spatial Framework which will affect so many of our communities. 

The Conservative Council Group will represent all residents and businesses in our six townships and we will continue to work with our brilliant MPs James Daly (Bury North) and Christian Wakeford (Bury South) for the benefit of all. 

I look forward to continuing to lead the Group with Cllr. Cropper serving as Deputy Leader for the year ahead. 

Cllr. Nick Jones 
Leader, Bury Conservative Group